The Calling of a Lightworker

"Don't Forget" by Marie-Chantale Turgeon

“Don’t Forget” by Marie-Chantale Turgeon via Creative Commons License v. Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic

I know I’ve talked about this before…the 7th grade, desperately wanting to be different. I bought the craziest clothes I could find, rap tees, mesh off-the-shoulder sweaters and brightly colored floral leggings. I shaved half my head after sneaking away on a school field-trip. I envied other kids that were different. I also had no idea this was unusual until I was a grown a woman and shared this life long call to all things eccentric. Though, I knew that most kids worked hard to be like other kids, I rarely felt that way. (I had my moments of course…I definitely strived for “normal” where there was boy involved.)

It’s always been easy for me to follow whatever path appeals to me, whether it be though physical appearance, as mentioned above, or through my hobbies, education or career. I’m so blessed to live in a time and place where I can pursue nearly anything that calls to me without fear of persecution. I can study fringe-science, unorthodox religions, create controversial art, march in political parades and even host a blog that investigates all kinds of socially unacceptable concepts without any real consequence. Years ago, women would have been burned at the stake for far less than what I accomplish before my morning coffee.

I just started reading Light is the New Black by Rebecca Campbell, which reminded me again of my lifelong appreciation for all things different. I thought I’d share this quote from the chapter: What the What is a Lightworker?

“Lightworkers turn their light on by following what lights them up and then effortlessly sharing that light with the world around them. They are in tune with the callings of their soul and act on its whispers regardless of fear. They do not need to convince anyone of anything rather just be the light.”

Leave a Reply

