My Garden, The Goddess and Marching Against Monsanto

I started my garden a couple of weeks ago. It’ll serve me in many ways. First and foremost, it’s a great way to connect with the earth, to be physical and to literally get my hands dirty. The purest form of free therapy. It’s also a physical manifestation of goddess energy; a living, growing symbol of fertility and abundance. It’s a tool for ritual and for connecting to the divine. It’s its own altar.

At it’s simplest, my new garden is a source of food. I’ve planted kale, carrots, peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, eggplant, basil and many other herbs. I love the idea of growing my own food. I know exactly where it comes from, exactly how it’s been cultivated and harvested, and I’ll get to eat it when it’s completely fresh and nutritionally perfect.

Later this month on May 23 there will be an international March Against Monsanto. This has been a cause near and dear to me for several years and it’s made me very aware of our rights as citizens when it comes to growing our own food and of course, how our purchased food is handled. I’ve learned some scary things recently, like for instance, sharing seeds from your garden is illegal in parts of the US. Here’s a great video:

If you enjoyed the video and want to sign the petition to support seed sharing between citizens. Visit: the official Save Seed Sharing Petition.

Also, if you’re interested, John from Growing Your Greens also had a visit from the police 2 years ago. Listen to the story of how they gained access to his house searching for marijuana (but turned up collard greens instead). It’s a great video and he also shares some important tips about understanding your personal rights as a citizen. He’s a wealth of knowledge when it comes to gardening and I recommend hisĀ video blog.


Here’s some information on the March Against Monsanto

March Against Monsanto | May 23, 2015

March Against Monsanto | May 23, 2015 in a City Near You.

Leave a Reply

