10 Things All White Folks Need to Consider about the #BaltimoreUprising

I have a Word document filled with fragmented thoughts about the Baltimore Riots but I haven’t been able to write it out in a way I’m happy with. I have a lot of feelings about this, but sometimes someone else just says it better. That’s why I’m reblogging. ∞

Central Oregon Coast NOW

April 29, 2015 by Jamie Utt

Freddie Gray - Baltimore Freddie Gray – Baltimore

As I reflect upon the most recent Baltimore Uprising taking place in the wider movement for racial justice in the United States, I can’t help but be simultaneously frustrated and inspired by the White people in my life.

I’m inspired by White friends and mentors who are striving for accountable solidarity to Black people within the #BlackLivesMatter movement, and I am constantly taking notes about how I can do more to advance the cause of racial justice through my own work, words, and activism.

But I’m also frustrated and disappointed in how so many of us are choosing to direct as much energy as possible to blaming people of Color for their own oppression and to condemning them for expressions of grief and rage that make us uncomfortable and afraid.

So as I reflect on those simultaneous feelings, I wanted…

View original post 1,258 more words

Leave a Reply

