I’m Going Batty.

Nyctophilus geoffroyi by Michael Pennay via Creative Commons v.2.0

Nyctophilus geoffroyi by Michael Pennay via Creative Commons v.2.0

Bats.

For some reason, the Universe is showing me bats. It started with a dream last week. I dreamt there was a bat loose in a garage or storage space (didn’t recognize the location). I was standing around with a few other people and I was worried it would get cold and sick. A second bat flew in, and at first I was concerned the two would fight, but after some coaxing, the second bat allowed the small, cold one to cuddle up to it. I relaxed a bit until the small bat came down to ground level and was quickly bitten by my cat. It caused a small wound on the bats neck, which shown red on the white fir of its neck and head. I woke up startled.

Later, my daughter was digging in the back of her closet and pulled out a bat Beanie Baby. A toy I’ve never actually seen her play with. She gave it to me to keep without reason or prompting. That’s when I first noticed the synchronicity. I went to cook breakfast for us and turned on some nature program from Netflix. More bats of course. Paying attention to the symbolism now, I stopped to watch the program which was about the symbiotic relationship between desert cactus and bats. How the delicacy of their circumstance meant their entire existences depended on each other.  Again, I found myself worried for the bats (and a bit for the cactus).

Since last weekend, the bat symbol continues to pop up on clothing I see, as I peruse Pinterest, and even literally, outside my house. I saw one flicker by the window as we played with my daughter on the floor of her room. I don’t see them commonly either, maybe just a few times per year.

I’ll be damned if I know what this is all about. The energy I’m picking up is not the usually association as creatures of death or vampirism associated with myth. In contrast, they’ve been cute and vulnerable. In my dream, I was quite worried about it. Today, I stumbled across this bat image:

Gross, Heather. Fluffy Bat. 2014. Heather's Sketches. Tumblr: Healther's Sketcheroos. Accessed: 24 March 2015. Creative Commons v.4.0

Gross, Heather. Fluffy Bat. 2014. Heather’s Sketches. Tumblr: Healther’s Sketcheroos. Accessed: 24 March 2015. Creative Commons v.4.0 http://heathersketcheroos.tumblr.com/post/102761737341/i-wanted-to-paint-something-fluffy-so-i-finished

Hardly menacing. I just wish I knew what I’m supposed to gain from this. Is it a totem animal? Is it an archetype?  An omen? Is there something going on in my psyche or is it more literal? I have no clue. ∞

5 responses to “I’m Going Batty.

  1. Pingback: Change Is A Brewin’ | Cosmic Twist·

Leave a Reply

