When Your Gut Conflicts with Political/Religious/Cultural Expectations

Kernels of Truth by DaveBlog via Creative Commons v.2.0.

Kernels of Truth by DaveBlog via Creative Commons v.2.0.

I believe that people are intrinsically good. That compassion and love is our natural state. I believe we know what is right and good in our hearts…well, really in our stomach. I believe our gut is the center of our conscience, which is why when we act against compassion, we feel that yucky sick feeling in our stomach. Of course, we have the ability to push that feeling aside…we let our minds grow louder until we can’t hear what our gut is telling us. We rationalize, sending our moral compass into a spin, so that we can accommodate whatever agenda is driving us; it could be religious, political, cultural, familial influence, fear, etc.

Subjects like gay marriage, capitol punishment, our environmental crisis, religious terrorism, abortion, animal welfare, agricultural responsibility, immigration, racial and gender equality are all political hot topics. Aren’t the answers to these big questions already inside us?

When another person speaks against the compassionate option, I wish I could transfer my consciousness into theirs and feel for that string of doubt. They must know, at some level, that Bob, their gay coworker isn’t really going to hell or that there is something fundamentally wrong with eating a chicken that has been bred to be deformed and unable to stand. Why do people choose to turn their backs on compassion? Laziness? Fear?

I think there are areas where I turn my back on compassion. I’m going to meditate on them in hopes of understanding why I (we) do this. I would LOVE if others would be bold enough to share their own stories. I’m especially interested in understanding conflicts between religion and/or culture and one’s personal moral code. What happens when your religion or culture teaches you something you don’t agree with? How do you overcome your personal beliefs, or do you? Have you ever felt you have pushed compassion aside to accommodate someone else’s code of conduct? Where have you let your personal convictions trump your religious or cultural teachings? Share in the comments. ∞

“Truth has power. And if we all gravitate toward similar ideas, maybe we do so because those ideas are true…written deep within us. And when we hear the truth, even if we don’t understand it, we feel that truth resonate within us…vibrating with our unconscious wisdom. Perhaps the truth is not learned by us, but rather, the truth is re-called…re-membered…-re-cognized…as that which is already inside us.”

~Dan Brown, The Lost Symbol

4 responses to “When Your Gut Conflicts with Political/Religious/Cultural Expectations

  1. I think that sometimes, when it comes to issues like equality or animal cruelty, some people just think that someone else will handle it. Or they think that because it isn’t something that affects them personally, that it’s “someone else’s problem.” What some people fail to remember/understand is that we’re all connected. Everything that happens, every injustice, every heartache, every joy is shared by every soul, whether they want to acknowledge it or not. I do what I can, which isn’t much more than signing online petitions and feeding/taking in strays, but I think every little action helps. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m from India and religion is a huge thing here. Sometimes I get so fed up with arguing and questioning everything that I give in. There is a custom in Hinduism: you have to touch the feet of elders as a mark of respect. Now, I don’t have a problem with expressing my respect but to do so as an obligation is something I hate. But I did it a couple of times because I was drained from arguing all the time. It would have been okay if I liked those elderly people, but that was not the case. They are arrogant people who abuse their power.

    Most of the times, I do question the religious teachings. Even in these modern times, my parents still feel that women are just there to get married and produce children. This is one major problem for me. I can go on and on about where I don’t agree but I guess all the problems are pretty common, everywhere: homophobia, patriarchal mindset, sex is wrong etc etc.

    Like

    • The very first time I spoke against the church I was raised in was because of comments I felt were sexist (women’s roll in marriage). Fortunately for me my own mother is quite progressive. We both take that which resonates and chalk the rest up to 2000 years of falable, patriarchal influence. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and teaching me a little about Indian culture.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

